Annual Civil Society Dialogue – 2015 Program

Oct 14, 20152015, 2015 - Dialogue

Thursday 22 October 2015
University House, Australian National University

8:30 Welcome
& Formalities
Barbara O’Dwyer
National President
Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom – Australia
Welcome to
Aunty Agnes Shea
Ngunnawal elder
8:55 Message from the Government
Introduction Marc Purcell
Executive Director
Australian Council for International Development
Government Address The Hon. Teresa Gambaro MP
Chair of Joint Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade
Introduction Professor Richard Baker
Pro-Vice Chancellor
Australian National University
Address from the Opposition The Hon. Tanya Plibersek MP
Deputy Leader of the Opposition and Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade
9:10 DFAT Address Dr Barbara King
Senior Policy Officer, Gender Equality Section
Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
9: 20 Panel:  Myanmar
Chair Dr Susan Harris-Rimmer
Associate Professor
Griffith Law School
Panel Members Richard Andrews
Assistant Secretary
Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
Stav Zotalis
Country Director
Care International
Khin Khin Mra
Women’s Rights Activist
Gender Equality Network
10:50 Morning tea
11:15 Panel:  Solomon Islands
Chair Dr Sinclair Dinnen
Associate Professor
State, Society and Governance in Melanesia
Panel Members Assistant Commissioner Scott Lee
National Manager International Operations
Australian Federal Police
Jo Hayter
Chief Executive Officer
International Women’s Development Agency
Ethel Sigimanu
Permanent Secretary
Solomon Islands’ Ministry of Women, Youth, Children and Family
12:45 Lunch
1:30 Panel:  What is Men’s Leadership for Women, Peace and Security?
Chair Virginia Haussegger
Board Member
Australian National Committee for UN Women
Panel Members Major General Shane Caughey
Deputy Commander Joint Operations
Australian Defence Force
Archie Law
Executive Director
ActionAid Australia
James Batley
Distinguished Policy Fellow
Australian National University
3:00 Afternoon tea
3:15 Small group discussion: Australia’s National Action Plan
4:30 Facilitator Dr Kate Lee-Koo
Senior Lecturer
Monash University
4:45 Concluding
Dr Fiona Jenkins
ANU Gender Institute